Learning to Drive Series

by - April 26, 2016



Starting a new series of posts.... Learning to Drive in Florida. 

Glenn, is 15, and on track getting his permit and eventually drivers license. No idea where that time went! But I want to share the info we have found to hopefully make it a little easier for any Florida readers.  



So here we are with the basic steps of Getting a Permit in Florida. I will add each step as we get to it, with all the info I can gather up, in separate posts. 


Here is a basic checklist that will help guide you through the steps (courtesy of the 12 Dollar site). Anything in italics is stuff I am adding. 



 Age 14 ½ (minimum age for TLSAE)

Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) course
Practice Permit Test (recommended!)
Driver's Permit Test Online or At Local DMV
Age 15 (minimum age for learner's permit)

Go to your local DHSMV office to obtain learner's permit
• Persons with a learner's permit may only drive during daylight hours during the first three months, and until 10 p.m. thereafter, always with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old occupying the front passenger seat.
Behind-the-wheel driver training (optional)
Parent-teen practice driving
  • • at least 50 hours
  • • at least 10 of which must be at night
  • • Teach Your Teen to Drive…and stay alive is a fun and highly effective guide that helps parents to structure practice driving time and teach their teen to drive.
Age 16 (minimum age for license)

Held a learner's permit for at least on year without any traffic convictions
Go to your local DHSMV office to take the driving skills test
Get intermediate license!!!



So here we go!!!   Off to Step 1

Anyone else starting this new journey? 

You May Also Like

9 comments

  1. Here in MA, kids can't get their permit until age 16. And they can't get their license until they complete drivers ed and their parents take a course as well.

    ReplyDelete
  2. It always interests my how the licensing process varies from state to state. I would think a national standard would be more effective.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow, 14.5 years! That is really young, in South Africa I think the min age is 16 years of age.

    ReplyDelete
  4. No - but I could tell you some stories! My youngest son has severe ADHD. I'm agoraphobic and terrified of being in vehicles. Can you imagine how well this went?

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh gosh its been so long since I've thought about this process. I think Im having some risidual nightmares!

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's such an exciting time for him - driving is a big step towards adulthood. It's nice of you to share the helpful information from your state to make it easy for others doing the same thing.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I remember these days. There are pluses and minuses to it all but you just have to remember to breather when you are riding with your son or daughter.

    ReplyDelete
  8. It has been forever since I thought about getting a license until recently! Almost a year ago we moved to Norway and because of how difficult their driving laws are I now have to re take the practical test. It is so weird! Good luck!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I am worried about when our boys are old enough to drive here in NYC. Driving in this city is not for the faint at heart.

    ReplyDelete